Headphone recommendations for playing retro and mondern+FPS gaming

Looking for headphone recommendations with a primary use case of playing older games. NES, SNES, Sega Genesis- What do you think I should look for in a pair of headphones if this is my primary use case? What would you recommend? As for budget I am very flexible. I’d also use it for general purposes.

EDIT: I’d also like to use this for modern gaming as well. I am not a pro gamer but I do play games that would benefit from positional sound. I am not a hardcore FPS player but I do play games like Overwatch, TF2, Dota 2, Fortnite, PUBG, and APEX. This is all on PC as I am primarily a PC gamer.

Some background: I own a Magni/Modi 2U stack which I use pretty much everything (and soon Loki). I’ve primarily used Sennheiser Game ONE headset for general use and also own a pair of DT 770 PROs which I do enjoy (though they do get a bit hot during the summer months like now).

Koss Porta pros or ksc 75s, or even the kph30i? Cheap, good, and closer to the era of the games your playing lol.

lol ok let’s set a minimum price of $150 in that case

What about something like a 58x or an HE4XX? If you wanted a little more, you could go for a Sundara

I can’t see a fantastic reason to overspend on that application. If it’s multi-function, sure, but for reproducing the bleeps and bloops of old school games just get something comfortable to wear while you play.

2 Likes

Kinda agree. While there are certainly bangers from this era of games, it’s kinda pointless to go too far headphone wise if they are only being used for that purpose. I would suggest to stay well under 200 for that purpose, because you can get a very good headphone for that price. I would assume high quality comfort and build would also be desirable, so that might contribute to the higher priced items. But I wouldn’t suggest going overkill