[Help!] Desktop Speaker Set Up <$600

Hey so I’m looking to switch out my current desktop set up ( Edifier S350DB). I was originally looking at the Triangle Borea BR03 but I’m not sure what amp/receiver would be best for this or if I should be looking at other alternatives. I’m pretty new to the world of audio and would love to venture into budget friendly options for a speaker set up. Thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

honestly for a desk it’s gonna be hard to beat those edifiers, they’re actually designed for that, bigger stuff gets boomy on a desk and still has less bass than those cause of the sub, I’d probably go with vanatoo t1 for that budget, or maybe replace them with the t0 and a sub.

1 Like

welcome to HFG!

what makes you want to change your desktop speakers?

1 Like

My mom wants them, so I’d figure I’d get something better for myself honestly

3 Likes

ah hah!

how much space do you have for these?

1 Like

Vanatoo Transparent Zeroes are really nice. Active speakers with a small footprint.
I run mine with an SMSL SU-8 DAC feeding a Monoprice Liquid Spark amp feeding my Zeroes. Great sound, small footprint and a good amount of power.
I was originally running Topping D10 to Liquid Spark to Zeroes.

2 Likes

About 160 square feet for the room. My desk is pretty large so I have space for most hardware (I think?)

Would I need a amp/dac for them and If so any suggestions?

Oh dunno if it matters but I listen to pretty much every genre under the sun (rap, anime osts, punk, folk, edm, etc…) I have my own headphones I use for games and just want to use these headphones for music and occasional movies.

nope, they actually have an integrated usb dac, I run my t0 of a liquid spark just for the volume knob tho

Invest in a sub with hi-pass filter emotiva 8in $299. Or a cheap 10in sub with no filter. Basically invest in a subwoofer.

I say go team component setup. The sub provides grand scale and buying seperates increases the fun factor.

1 Like