Help on getting first DAC

I’ve been looking at DAC’s recently and saw that Schiit has the close out on the Classic Multibit Stack. I contemplating on either getting the Classic Multibit Stack or getting a Modi Multibit. I had an idea that if i get the Classic Multibit Stack i was going to keep the Bifrost Multibit and give the Asgard 2 to a buddy of mine, or should i just keep the stack and sell the Heresy?

I have been loving my Bifrost MB lately for sure.

1 Like

Really? I’m really new to DAC’s right now and i don’t really know what to look for. What are your thoughts on your Bifrost MB? Is it worth to get it now or should i save up for the BIfrost 2?

Fisher Price makes a My first DAC now. :wink: https://www.fisher-price.com/en-gb

2 Likes

I only have experience with 4 DACs, three of them were DS and this was the only multibit. After hearing it, I am a believer of the MB and my future one will likely be another R2R. I ended up getting the Bifrost MB on the $349 sale (the non-2).
It definitely sounds more natural, life-like, airy, and wider sound stage than any of my previous DACs. I don’t have any comparisons to the 4490 version or the v2 version either.
Best of luck and let me know if you have any other specific questions.

1 Like

Talk about balling on a budget.

Of course! Thanks for your input. What are you using for your Amp?

The more serious answer is that a lot of people will tell you, get a Schiit stack and you can probably end there. DACs are important, but if you don’t hear a difference, they anything more than a good first tier DAC is an absolute waste of money. If it provides you the right connectivity, everything else is an extra.