How to tell if I have an SMSL SU-8 V2?

Hello all, I just bought an SMSL SU-8 on ebay and I just wanted to know how to tell if it is the V2 version. It was listed as a V2 by a reputable seller but I can’t find anywhere on the packaging that listed it as such. I just got it today and so far it sounds fine, but I’m fairly new to the game and the best DAC I have is the Modi 3 to compare it to. Any help would be appreciated, as I have no clue.

Does it say 10th anniversary on it?

1 Like

I just checked and it does, is that the only true tell? I will he stoked if it is!

It is the v2 then I believe. If you really want to check, then you can take the cover off and look for it to say v2 on the pcb, but I am pretty sure it is the v2 board with v1.3 firmware

Ok, that will be enough for me. I don’t want to take the thing apart after I got everything situated. I just wanted to make sure that I got what I paid for lol. Thank you for the help!

So which sounds better to you - Modi or SMSL?

Unplug your DAC from the power outlet. Hold the power button down with your finger. Reinsert the power cable into the power outlet. Continue to hold the power button down. The startup screen should show, but this time, it will tell you the firmware version. 1.3 and up is V2.

1 Like