Is my Aune X1S too bright for headphones

Good day to all,

This is my current setup, PC - SPDIF - X1S - Headphones. I also recently got the line outs from the X1S hooked up to my Mackie MR524.

Im fairly new to the game, and Im not sure about how I feel about the HD6XX running direct from the headphone amp of the X1S, as I cant stand to listen to it for more than an hour as I feel my ears are fatiguing, they’re not painfull really, but there I think Im pushing the amp section to loud for me to be able to hear enough bass to complete the whole sound stage. But I’ve also tested out a friend’s Chord Mojo, using the same tracks, the HD6xx sounded magical to my ears.

Now using the MR524’s, I can get the exact sound that I want, even when gaming, and my headphones are now seldom used. I still want to use them equally, but I think because I find my setup too bright, that I subconsciously lean towards the Mackies more?

I’m still looking for that “bloom” that I felt from the Mojo, and my questions for you guys are as follows:

• Is the X1S DAC section bright to begin with, or is it just the amp section.

• Would getting a tube amp or any warmer amp solve my problem. If so, what would you suggest.

• Finally, has anyone else experienced that “bloom” characteristic that I got from the Mojo, and would I be able to replicate that sound? Not keen on the Mojo because I want a desktop setup without the battery degradation factor.

Cheers!

P.S.

I also have SHP9500 and M50x for headphones. Sorry for the long post, its my first time here.

I think a tube amp would be something you would enjoy imo. The x1s might be a bit bright amp wise because the 6xx is kinda picky. You could get a warmer sounding amp too, but o think a tube is what you might be looking for

Wow, that was quick! Thanks!

Can you suggest anything under $250-300? Right off the bat I was thinking Little Dot or Dark Voice, but I’d like your “professional” opinion. :smile: