Looking for recomendations on audio(total noob) with a flexible budget $500~

Heya everyone, first time posting here after binge watching Zeos videos. I’m very new to this world of audiophiles and I’ve just finished a new pc build and I was hoping to switch up my audio since Z has pretty much beaten it into me that they’re garbage(quite literally). I’ve got some funds left over and figured why not get something better.

I’m looking for headphones that will last since I’ve got quite the noggin on me that’s also accompanied by an afro. Hopefully whatever you recommend can fit a watermelon sized head. I do play a lot of games primarily shooters like rainbow 6, pubg, and escape from tarkov so I’m looking for something that can give me a clearer sound. After listening to Zeos review of the a40s I really understood what he meant because majority of the time when playing games it was starting to turn into a guessing game based on what I could glean from direction. I’d really like footsteps to be as clear as possible.

Also I’m not sure if it was just my bin tier cans or my hardware but I had a lot of white noise and the bass was really present on my astros. If we can avoid things that aren’t to present there that would be great.

I’m not at all sure about DACs/AMPs but I’ll be checking through his vids and in here. I’ve been looking at the m40x’s/DT770s/DT990s/Fidelios/Hifiman HE4XX not sure which to go with though. Any advice from you guys would be great thanks a lot!

1 Like

What type of games do you play and what type of music do listen to? And what is your general environment like? Is it noisey or is it generally quite?

I play shooters a ton. Rainbow 6 Siege, Escape From Tarkov, Arma 3, PUBG and sometimes rhythm games like Osu and DJMax. I listen to a EDM, trance, lo-fi, instrumentals, hiphop, and rap music. My general environment isn’t very loud aside from the low hum of my machines. So it’s generally very quiet.