Looking for XLR microphone setup

I am not sure if this is the proper forum for this…

Hello I am looking to purchase an At 2020 XLR mic. I am new to this, so I was wondering what exactly I need. If anything is wrong or someone has a better recommendation please speak up. I have come to this conclusion I will post links with what I am referring to.

Microphone- At2020 xlr

At2020 Foam windscreen with shock mount by vocalbeat

XLR male to XLR female

Power supply: This is intimidating. So many choices I do not know which to go with. I have come across some behringer models or a Steinberg UR22 mkI, or even yamaha. Please help.

I am unsure which boom arm to get, and do I need anything else such cables? Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you

So, do you have a good recording environment? Do you have carpet flooring? Do you plan on treating your room? Are you in a loud environment?

If not, I would consider a dynamic microphone instead of a condenser mic

Also want would you be planning on using the mic for?

3 Likes

Hello Mon you helped me so much back in the summer with choosing the DT 1990 Pro! Good to hear from you again! I have been really enjoying these headphones. A LOT

In my gaming room I have wood flooring with some throw carpet here and there, but there isn’t an echo in the room if I talk aloud. However, with a mic that might be different? I do not know. I do not plan on treating my room, but if I really have to I can. You mean with that foam to reduce echo and such? My environment is not loud, but a fan in the background may get picked up if the mic is sensitive enough.

All in all, I need a mic for PC gaming now that I have the DT 1990 Pro with no in line communication as you know…