Looking to put together a budget soundbar killer

Hi, guys . I’m here because I’m new to HIFI in general and I’m trying to put together money for a budget soundbar killer. I’m looking for a nice 2.0 stereo steup, enough for TV, movies, and gaming. I have a Magni / Modi stack for my PC and I love it, so I thought I might start with a Modi. I’m looking for speakers that won’t leave me with the feeling that I absolutely need a sub (I’m in an apartment). Here are my thoughts below so far:
Vanatoo T0 - Skip the DAC, use this setup (I felt these may require a sub though).
Nuemi BS5 - I felt these may require a sub.
Micca MB42X - Again felt I may need a sub.
Micca RB42 - Looks good on paper but AMP?
Any other suggestions on sub $180 speakers would be good.
This leads me to Amps, I have no Idea. I don’t even know what a decent budget option would be or where to start. Preferably something cheap that sounds decent and can drive my speakers.
Lastly, I need speaker stands. I’m looking for suggestions on something cheap, sturdy, and gets the job done period.
Any and all help is greatly appreciated, thanks guys.

1 Like

How big is the room how many feet are you from the TV ?

Scratch the MB42X

RB42 $148.00
BS5 $89.00
Micca OoO $99.00
10in elac sub (seen this go down to 99.00 bucks)
SMSL AD18
If the TV got analog out or you have a DAC
Amazon basic 2ch amplifer. (Lowest ive seen 90.00 greenbacks.)

What ive learned with budget speakers they take power to drive for TV setup. But in an apartment this should do the trick.

The amazon amp can play louder straight off the TVs internal DAC.
But the AD18 has better sound quality. Not day and night but better. Least thats what think im hearing.

And welcome aboard.

1 Like

im in an apartment as well, midfield setup Kali LP-6s (powered monitors) Dac is a Topping D50s, no need for a sub but can easily add later