▶ Micca RB42

This is the official thread for the Micca RB42. This thread is for discussion and reviews.

• Passive
  • XXΩ
  • A - Build Quality

:red_circle: HifiGuides Amazon link

Reviews…

Z Reviews

4 Likes

“over ear”
Can’t wait until that gets explained

So what’s the amp equivalent for this? I’d say I wanted to set these babies (yes they’ll be here on Tuesday) as “sound bar” for bedroom tv… SMSL AD18?

Ad18 isn’t the worst option. 80wpc might be a bare minimum

2 Likes

How about the amp for a desktop set up? got rb’s to mount a sound bar on the wall. I’m new to this wolrd and got this speakers w my first payment

1 Like

Topping MX3 is a relatively low power but HIGH CLEANLINESS amp I reviewed. Look that up.

2 Likes

I saw it, we got a fancy board on the PC, do I get away with just a nice amp?

Would still look into an external dac or, in your case, an external dac/amp. End of the day, pc audio is still pc audio.

Anybody know of a powered alternative to these? Considering these need more than 80wpc to properly run, i’d rather not have to find an amp for them.
By alternative I mean something that sounds just as good for around 50 to 80 bucks more.

The SMSL SA-98E is what’s powering my set, and it’s definitely enough power. At 8 o’ clock, it will output 70dB (REW pink nosie, 3 feet). The RB42’s are exceptional for the price, but in my opinion they need room to breath and a 20-500Hz EQ using REW to really shine. I’m not using them for near field listening.

My current setup is miniDSP 2x4 HD > SMSL SA-98E > Micca RB42’s.

3 Likes

Can anyone recommend a suitable wall mount for these speakers? I’d like to get them up off my desk as they take up a lot more space than what they’re replacing (satellites from a Logitech Z-2300 2.1 speaker set I’ve had for 10 years or so). The curved tops and bottoms rule out the side-to-side clamping mechanism that most mounts use. I’d prefer a mount with pan/tilt adjustment.