MMX 300, Tygr 300r or Modhouse Argon MK3

Hi There!

I’m a complete beginner in the audio space (Watching a lot of Z reviews, DMS, Joshua Valour, Crinacle etc) and I’m looking to get an upgrade from my GSP 670 to something quite a bit better. I’m just looking for a closed or open back headphone to become my daily driver. Most of my time spent with it will be used for listening to music (A lot of Hip-Hop & Rap) as well as listening to podcasts and playing mostly open world games. So what I’m looking for is either a closed or open-back headphone that has great soundstage and will give me an immersive experience when playing open world games such as RDR2 and Elden Ring, as well as providing a really solid music performance. I’ve narrowed my choices down to the aforementioned headphones that will be paired with the IFI Zen DAC V2 (Totally open to any other suggestions for an AMP/DAC combo) and I was just wondering if anyone could recommend any of the above or point me elsewhere. Finally my budget is anything up-to $500-$600 total.

Thanks

I’d skip the Argons (and most other planars) , not because they arent great, but rather because they need a fair amount of power. Getting an amp to power them properly will eat away a lot of your budget.

Havent trying the mmX300 but the Tygr is super solid.

Personally since most of the games you play are more single player experiences, i’d also look into the Harmonicdyne Zeus,it can run on anything (so no amp upgrade needed), it has amazing sound stage, good bass impact and overall a very “fun” and immersive headphone.

P.S you can buy both :smiley:

2 Likes

Thank you!!! I’ll check out the Harmonicdyne Zeus, they sound really good.

2 Likes

For your music taste the Zeus should be more to your liking another thing would be the hifiman edition xs as an Allrounder, just not sure if the zen DAC can power it to it’s best single ended :thinking: