Need advice. Looking to put together my first, budget audio setup for living room for around €500

Hello,
I’m looking to upgrade my TV / living room audio experience. I’m a newbie when it comes to HT or speakers in general. I only have Edifier r1280dbs for my PC setup and I did not have anything before that. I have a semi-decent headphones setup for my PC, but that’s probably not really relevant.

As I stated in the title, I am looking for some basic advice first. My budget for this setup is ~ €500. I really don’t know if it’s possible to put together a usable surround setup with this kind of budget or if it will be better to build stereo, or stereo + sub setup (basically a soundbar equivalent). You tell me…

Here is some (hopefully) useful information:

• I live in Europe and I want to buy everything locally. I am not importing from US. (It’s a hassle)

• Rough dimensions of my living room:

• I live in a flat, so I have to take neighbors into consideration (sub rumble), but the house is pretty solid (brick) and I rarely hear anything from outside my flat.

• I have LG C1 55 inch TV. It is on a cabinet (not wall mounted). There is not much space on the sides (on the cabinet) for speakers. However, there is plenty space next to the cabinet. Here is a photo:

• There is not much space next or behind the sofa for potential rear speakers.

• I mostly watch movies and YouTube on the TV, but I also sometimes listen to music there. The sound from the TV obviously isn’t something special though. I also use the TV for playing games. On PC and on a PS3.

I most probably missed something so don’t hesitate to ask me anything.

You could do a jamo setup with the 800 series in either bookshelf or towers. Grab a sabaj a10d amplifier and a ifi air DAC and you’d have a sound bar killer 2.0. Later you can save up and add a sub.
This would get you by for a good while and you can save up for a massive HT system without missing good sound.