Need help with Hifiman Sundara + Chord Mojo

Hi first of all, I would like to say I’m new to HiFi world. I brought Sundara last week and pair with my Samsung Galaxy S8+ and it work quit well. The volume i use is around 90%. However, I’ve read from many place that If i want to use all potential of Sundara I need an amp to drive it. So I looking for many choice available in my region (Germany). I end up get second hand Chord Mojo and will get it by next week. In the mean time I look on other forum in here about Sundara and found out that It really require a constant current amp to drive it. Now, I’m not sure that chord mojo would be able to fully utilize my Sundara or not or do I need an additional amp for it? I need a suggestion on this choice. If i needed additional amp which one is good for pairing it with Mojo with the budget under 500 euros.

Thank you all in advance :slight_smile:

This seems to be a split issue on the forum so please note this is the opinion of some Sundara owners including me.

The Sundara will produce sound, even loud sound, out of just about everything. An S8+, apple dongle or 20.000$ amp. But the lower mids, bass and especially subbass only really come to live when you feed them enough power.

And while I don’t know the power the Mojo sends into 32ohms (website claims 720mW in 8 and 35mW in 600) it should be (extrapolating from the earlier data) between 656,25 mW and 180mW (sorry, that’s the best you can get from the limited data they provide) but even if it is on the higher end of the estimation I don’t think it’s enough.

I’m driving them off of my SMSL SH-9 (€269 on amazon de, where i bought it) which can drive them at about 3watts or 3000mW. And they sound bloody amazing! As far as I can tell on this forum most people with amps over 1watt or 1000mW into 32ohm seem to be pretty damn happy!