Need some help making powered studio monitors part of my home audio set up

So I am new to all of this and I have to ask a few probably dumb questions.

I have a pair of powered monitors (hs80m) and I am trying to hook them up to my TV which has RCA out as well as having the option to hook a phone up via bluetooth or aux.

Can I hook these up to an amp? will that explode them?
Can I just buy a cheap receiver on FB and slap everything in to it? do I need one with non powered outputs for the speakers?
For my use case does it really matter if I use XLR or the 1/4 input?

I am also a big cheap asshole so I would love to keep the cost down

What do you guys recommend I do here?

Well if u’r TV has RCA output and can hook phone also. Probably the TV’s volume control will work fine with the output? This probably reads in the TV’s manual, very useful to check.
This is the cheapest solution, just connect cables and play.

1/4 or XLR in this case probably does not matter.
If a amp would have balanced output’s, then you could go balanced but most cheap amp do not.

Yes.
For powered monitors you usually need a preamp with signal output or more “regular” amp with output. Not the normal speakers connections Plus (+) or Minus (-)…
To connect source device -> preamp (usually with volume control) -> speakers.
If the source device has signal outputs and volume control works -> speakers.

In my mind preamp is the way to go but questions is, what are ur requirement’s for it?
Simply in, what features do you need use now or later on?
Money comes in the game. More features, more quality and options = more money.

I don’t know much about this, but I think as long as the device has pre-out for self-powered speakers it should be fine.

Thanks for the info. I am not looking to have a whole lot of “future proofness” in this setup. It is just a cheap solution to get me through the next year or two until I can really invest in a whole new setup.