New music you discovered in 2020

Following up on the best album of 2020 thread, what new bands have you discovered this year? Most of my purchases are bands that already existed in my collection. These are just the new-to-me bands that I have come across:

1. Magnolia Bayou. Some very nice blues rock.
    https://youtu.be/Lf3QX2m7SVg

2. Ayron Jones. Straight up rock.
    https://youtu.be/fkI1EQy9un8

3. Larkin Poe. I thought they were kind of countryish, but they have some great blues rock, along with tons of covers.
    https://youtu.be/N3idn3XQN_w

4. Thelonius Monk. I have been dipping my toes into the jazz world for the last five years and this guy is pretty well known. I donā€™t love it, but it is pretty interesting. I bought Genius of Moden Music (vols. 1 and 2) and his collaboration with Art Blakey. OLD jazz.
    https://youtu.be/ySN6o6vpHTs

5. BADBADNOTGOOD. This is some Canadian content for you. Their second album from 2012 is the only one that grabbed me. It is pretty accessible if you are a rocker looking for something new/different.
    https://youtu.be/l97mbF7J-r4

6. Tool - Fear Iinoculum. Not my thing at all. Might grow on me, butā€¦

7. Lastly, a bit more Canadian content, with JJ Wilde. A bit of rock/pop.
    https://youtu.be/-0KPZs_OjNA

10 Likes

Iā€™ve been slowly getting into Japanese hardcore this year, and even to slower house and electronica.

Well, I already was interested in such since I play Konami rhythm game titlesā€¦ but the past couple months have been the first time I actually listened to these song for the detail. I can stream a lot of it, but I also want to buy CDs for the collectability. :stuck_out_tongue:

What is Japanese hardcore? A version of heavy metal?

Hardcore as in a subgenre of EDM. Would include your classic stuff like Gabber, Makina, happy hardcore, etc. as well and newer derivations and fusions.