Open back easy to drive planar recommendations?

Hi guys this is my first time posting, just made an account so I am new here, have been reading these forums from time to time.

What I’m looking for is as the title suggests, specifically I want to be able to drive them with my Sennheiser GSX1000.
I’m also hoping to find some that are relatively cheap/well priced and, if at all possible, with a 3.5mm port.

Any recommendations that fit these criterias would be highly appreciated.

I think the 4xx meets that requirement pretty well, but I personally do think you would want to upgrade the amp with any planar imo. The 4xx is a great headphone and a really good entry into planar, it has most of the aspects that people typically like about planars at a great price with great sound

4 Likes

I agree with M0N…the 4xx are easy to drive.

1 Like

Also @M0N would the M560 with the backs off be a consideration?

I don’t think so, because I think the 4xx is a much better product imo. The 560 just doesn’t sound as good, and is about the same to drive

2 Likes

Ok. I have heard some people praise it. What are the differences?

The build on the m560 is pretty good, but sound wise, it’s got some wonky mids and treble, a strange soundstage, decent imaging, and isn’t as detailed as I think it should be. I think there are just much better options out there now for the same price

1 Like

Gotcha. Those better options would be the 4xx then.

I think so or other option

What about Verum One, Dekoni Blue, or T60rp?
More expensive but not way up there. Although a really powerful amp would probably be needed.

I’m not a huge Dekoni Blue fan, I don’t like the way the Bass transitions to the mids, but if your looking for a lot of Bass they provide that.

The verum and t60 rp would be too demanding imo. Also I don’t know if those would be the best entry cans

1 Like

So what other options are there besides the 4xx if there are any? Just curious.