Planning to upgrade from my HyperX Cloud Alphas

Hello,

I am planning to to move from my Hyper X Cloud Alphas and have a hard time deciding which headphone to get. My choices are the Sennheiser 58X Jubilee (160$), Philips Fidelio X2HR (140$ + 30$ shipping), or the Hifiman HE-4XX (200$).

I am new to the world of headphones and I’m not sure which would be the best upgrade/change from my Cloud Alphas which I really love. I mostly play games, listen to music for fun while studying, and watch shows/movies.

I might have plans to get a DAC/AMP in the future but might still be in a long time from now.

If there are other suggestions, I would gladly appreciate them.

Thanks!

EDIT:
Forgot to mention that I actually have the V-Moda Boom Pro mic because it just sounds way better than the stock mic for the Cloud Alpha.

Sennheiser 58x would be the best there for gaming imo

1 Like

Since those are all open back I’m going to assume portable is not your primary concern? If that’s true then the 58X jubilee is the cheapest, easiest to drive (your phone/laptop will work just fine), and is subjectively the best sounding.

1 Like

I’ve read and heard that the X2HR is more for immersion while the 58X is more for competitiveness. Also I’ve heard that the 150 ohms impedance of the 58X means having a DAC/AMP is almost needed to drive it properly. I’m looking for the best all rounder among these tbh.

Thanks for the recommendation though!

You are right. I just plan on using the cans as my primary headphone while gaming/listening/watching. Also, the 58X is only the cheapest because drop (massdrop) doesn’t ship to my country so I can’t give a final price but I’m assuming a third party delivery service would cost around 20 - 30$ to get it shipped here.

Is it true that the X2HR is more fun to listen to compared to the 58X? It’s what I mostly read and hear from the reviews I have seen so far.

Also isn’t the X2HR easier to drive?

Thanks for the input too btw!