PS5 & XSX: Audio from Next Gen Consoles (Guide for headphone users)

As the new console generation is slowly rolling out to living rooms across the world, it’s still not fully documented how to get the full audio experience from these consoles. Having researched the topic, I’ve gathered my findings in this thread to help all of you to get the best audio experience out of these new machines. Note: this guide is mainly aimed for casual/single-players. I have no experience with the in-game voice chat of these games.

A simple way that the console manufacturers promote is using the headphone jack on the controllers. DualSense and the Xbox controller both have a 3.5mm jack. This is of course not the best choice. Both controllers are bluetooth enabled and can only power weaker headphones. In a bind, this works.

One of the big caveats from these new consoles is the lack of an optical out port. Most of the audio is supported through HDMI-ARC, which suits for most use cases. Not everyone has an HDMI enabled receiver. One solution is to use the optical out of your TV which, depending on your TV is good enough.

The support for USB dacs is also severely limited. The PS5 only supports UAC1 -dacs, which limits the choice of dacs. Many of the most recent DACs are not supported. On the Xbox side, the situation is even more dire - you can’t use anything that is not licensed by Microsoft.

List of PS5 compatible dacs (As of 5/16/2021):

-Schiit Hel 2
-JDS Atom (with a firmware update dowgrading it into a UAC1 only dac)
-Creative SoundBlasterX G6
-Creative SoundBlasterX G3
-FX-Audio DAC-X6 (volume issues on stock opamps)
-FIIO E10k
-Syba Sonic

List of Xbox Series X/S compatible dacs (As of 5/16/2021)
-Astro MixAmp TR