Questions about gaming and casual listening headphones

Hello all,

I’m new to the forum and need help from those with plenty of experience in audio. I’m a bit of a newbie but I’ve researched quite a bit to understand some audiophile jargon. I’m not an audiophile and I plan on staying in the “mid-fi” range of audio products.

First, I want to get headphones that are good for FPS games like Rainbow Six Siege. So my top candidates at the moment are either the Beyerdynamic DT880 and TYGR 300R hooked up to the SoundblasterX G6. I like the G6 because of it’s game/chat mix feature on PS4. Heard so many good reviews of the DT880s and TYGRs. Because these aren’t headsets, I’d need a modmic. Are these great options or are there better options for my needs? Perhaps one with an attached mic? I have the Sennheiser GSP-300 at the moment. Problem is the sound isn’t that good. I tried the Audio-Technica ADG1X and I was happy with the sound on those, but not with the comfort. Is there anything like or better than the ADG1X in terms of sound with respect to gaming but without that weird 3D wing system and shallow earcups? Have also heard great things about the SHP-9500 and AKG K7XX.
Regarding headphones for competitive shooters, I’ve heard a neutral or even a recessed bass is preferred, while treble should be top priority to hear footsteps. Also heard that Imaging is more important than soundstage to pinpoint the direction footsteps and other audio cues are coming from. Can anyone confirm this?

Second, I’d like a headphone and DAC/AMP combo (2-in-1 or stack) for listening to Music. Not sure which headphones would be perfect for me. I listen to several genres of music and would like to figure out my “sound signature.” I mostly listen to Rap/Hip-Hop, as well as R&B and Bachata, or as I like to call “baby-making music.”