R2R / Multibit / Ladder DAC Discussion and tier list

Given the increasing interest in R2R / Multibit / Ladder DACs I think it would be interesting if contributors with experience can throw in some ordered lists of the best and worst and everything in the middle.

• discussions of the benefits and disadvantages

• list and tier lists, comparisons with popular dacs or dac/amp combos

• optimum pairing with specific amps

• comparison with the ifi Burr-Brown chip sets, such as the Zen Dac/AMp

etc.

3 Likes

so a review of Audio-gd R2R and comparison with Schiit Audio Modi Multibit:

1 Like

Why R2R DACS can sound BETTER than any other DACS:

(with a review of Soekris dac1541)

2 Likes

another higher end R2R:

1 Like

As an owner of two R-2R DACs plus a multibit DAC, I think I may be able to offer a rudimentary comparison.

First, why might one choose R-2R (also known as resistor ladder) digital decoding versus the much more common delta-sigma (DS) type? I’m no engineer or audio scientist, so getting a grasp of this stuff has been a bit of a challenge. The consensus seems to be that R-2R DACs measure poorly but sound more musical. Some listeners have called DS DACs cold and sterile compared to their R-2R counterparts while I personally find DS DACs to be a tiny bit less interesting, just a shade on the boring side.

IIRC, DS DACs make a lot of guesses and approximations when decoding a digital signal, then use a series of filters after the fact to clean up the mess. In contrast, by using a large number of precision resistors, R-2R DACs can achieve a high degree of accuracy - a large number of (correct) decimal places in the output voltage level - without having to compensate. This is just how I understand it - feel free to correct me or elaborate on my super simplified explanation.