Searching for Wireless Earbuds

Am looking for a pair of wireless earbuds to replace my aging Bose Soundsport Free. Was looking towards the Bose QC Earbuds but boi do they seem too expensive. I am not a huge fan of earbuds that go deep in the ear and don’t really need ANC, but might be cool to have. Latency on Android is also something to consider (The soundsport ones have noticeable latency, and i would like to eliminate that). Do you guys have any advice/ recommendations please?

3 Likes

Hey @GradCristi, welcome to HFG! Always good to have a new member!

Good question, I tend to think through this question every 2 years or so (when my existing set die). And yes, they can be expensive! I’m not sure I’ll be much help to you here, I have limited experience with wireless ear buds.

Just for reference, my wireless earbud progression has been Jabra Elite Sport → Google Pixel Buds 2 → Sony WH-1000XM4. (I tried with Sony XM3 buds and just couldn’t live with their bulk and very poor call quality.)

Here’s how I think about it - YMMV

My main use of wireless earbuds isn’t music listening. (That’s what all of the other cool gear on this forum is for.) I use them for convenience, when a wire gets in the way, or I just need less bulk: working out, chores, listening to podcasts/audio books, traveling, putting a squirming baby back to bed at 2am (they are remarkably good at pulling wired earbuds!).

So my focus tends to be features. My must have features are:

1. comfort comfort comfort
  2. (did I mention comfort?)
  3. single bud use in either L or R ear
  4. reasonable water/sweat resistance (not swimming, but working out and chores)
  5. compact case to pocket them
  6. greater than 4 hour real world use on a single charge (my marathon time is just under 4 hours, so if they last that long, that’s good enough)
  7. reasonably good call quality

My nice to have features that tend to push a set over the top: