Should I return my DT 770s Pro? Need recommendations

Disclosure: I’m a noob. I’ve been apart of the audiophile community for about a month now.

When I began my journey into the audiophile world, I have consistently been told, “gaming gear is bad!” For the last three years I have been using the Sennheiser GAME ONE PC Gaming Headset; and never thought they were bad, but I wanted an upgrade because apparently I am missing out, and because they DESPERATELY needed new ear-pads. After weeks of research (YouTube, reddit, and this forum), I made the decision of purchasing the DT 770 Pro @ 250 Ohms. When I have free time, I spend about 50% of my time gaming and the remainder listening to music/videos. I purchased the 770’s because I wanted to try out a close back headset since I live in a very noisy environment, and I had to constantly adjust the volume on the GAME ONEs to drown out the noise.

I have owned the 770’s for a week and three days now; they are being powered by my Fiio K5 Pro. I initially HATED the 770s, but my opinion changed after about a week of daily driving. After a week I went back to the GAME ONEs, and found that certain types of music sounds better on the 770’s like rap and electronic music, while the GAME ONEs sounded better for metal music. I preferred the GAME ONEs for gaming, but this was pretty subjective because I don’t think the 770s sounded bad for gaming.

Recently, a few friends of mine got together and spent several hours trying out each others headphones - here is what I had the opportunity to try out (we didn’t try gaming, just music listening):

1. 1More Triple Drivers - these sounded better for rap and electronic music, but where extremely uncomfortable and I couldn’t see myself wearing these all day.

2. Monoprice M570 - Not as comfortable as the GAME ONEs, and I still preferred listening to music on the GAME ONEs.

3. Sennheiser GSP600 - Same as the Monoprice M570s, but horrible build quality.