Transferring from Open to Closed Back Headphones

Hi all,

As the title suggests, I am thinking of switching from open back to closed back headphones while possibly improving my current overall setup. These headphones would be used only at home with the primary purpose of immersing myself in the music I listen to. I’m hoping that I can get some insight to guide me as I am fairly new to the audiophile scene.

A little bit about myself and my experience with headphones so far:
My current setup is a Sennheiser 598SE hooked up to a DAC-X6 that is strictly for home use. While I enjoy the sound that these headphones provide, I am looking for a more intimate experience.
When I say intimate, I mean something along the lines of stronger, more in my head, and getting lost in the music kind of feeling.

When checking out reviews of the Senns that I own, I’ve gathered that the 598SE has a fairly large sound stage and the sound is very accurate. While I enjoy listening to the music as it was intended to be heard, I find the Senns lacking in the ability to get me immersed into my music as much as I would like.

Why closed back:
The reason why I am looking for closed back headphones is because I’ve heard that the listening experience is much more concentrated which makes it easier to get immersed. I would appreciate any insight that people can provide me regarding the difference in experience I would get when switching from open to closed back headphones.

My music preferences:
I listen to most genres of music with a preference towards female vocals and bass heavy music.

What I’ve looked at so far:
BeyerDynamic DT177X GO from Drop
FOSTEX TR-X00 PURPLEHEART (currently not available)

My budget:
My current budget for the headphones alone is around $500USD. (I currently live in Canada so with the conversion, it gets to be around $650 CAD).

Conclusion:
I am open to suggestions and answering any questions that would help anyone better understand my preferences.