Upgrade time, Amp+Dac

I’m pretty new to the Audiophile scene and I’m currently looking for an amp and a dac that could make a good combo for my audio needs.
I currently own a JDS Labs Element I AmpDac. I use it to run all my cans (Argons, HD660S, KPH30i, og X2’s) and I’d like to see what’s next in line in terms of quality.
I like a fun and warm sound, love bass, but also like detail and clarity on the higher frequencies.
I use my setup mainly for music and videogames, but primarily music.
In terms of budget I’d say around $700usd total.
I’m still learning about all of this so any input would be appreciated.
Thanks for your time!

1 Like

Just wondering, are you planning to also upgrade to a higher tier of headphone? Right now, the element is pretty solid, and it might not make sense to go higher with current cans imo, although you can for sure

2 Likes

similar to what M0N says…you may wish to rather consider buying much better headphones and use them with your very SOLID combo unit. you’ll have a lot more audio quality gain with better headphones than with a newer DAC and amp. :slight_smile:

1 Like

To answer both questions, yes I’m also looking forward to go for higher tier headphones, however I also don’t know many options that appeal to my preference in sound (warm, bassy, but keep detail and clarity as much as possible), maybe a post on the Headphones category could help?
Thanks for the replies, I wasn’t sure if the Element was still competent since so much has come out during the last year and a half.

What price range are you thinking for that one?

For the headphones you have it’s solid imo, the 660s isn’t that picky based on amps, neither are the kph30 or the x2’s. The argons might appreciate a bit more power but I feel like it wouldn’t be a massive upgrade going to something with more power imo

1 Like