What got you into this hobby?

I’ve often wondered if there are personalities, traits, career interestes, etc. that predict having an interest in the audiophile (I know some hate that term, but bear with me please) hobby. If you’ll indulge me, I’d like to find out what brought us all into this world.

I’ll start…

I grew up in a musical family. My mother is a pianist who would often play classical works after putting me to bed as a young child. I fell asleep for years listening to piano arrangements of classical pieces by Beethoven, Bach, Mozart, and others. My father had a decent stereo system in my growing years as well. He had a varied record collection that he would play frequently. Styx, The Moody Blues, The Who, The Beatles, many Motown artists, and many more could be heard in our home with some regularity. My brother is formally trained on saxophone and self-taught on piano and cello. When I was 10, my dad taught me how to run the sound system at our church. I quickly started learning how to listen for different sounds that could create feedback problems, adjust levels so vocals and instruments blend, on and on. I ran sound boards every week for about 15 years. Once I learned how to hear subtle details and differences, it became very difficult to turn that off. Now, I’m addicted to “the chase”.

The question of personality traits and career interests probably gets too indentifying and might be better left for academic study. But, how did you get into music and audio?

(I know Steve Guttenberg did a thing like this not long ago, but he specifically asked this of young audiophiles. I don’t care your age or experience level. I just want to hear your story. No identifying info, please.)

6 Likes

My father is a music producers oI have always been around nice quality equipment. He gave me a pair of Pioneer IEMs when I was 15. Someone broke them so I saved up and up to buy the Shure se425. Those IEMs, as well as the vintage HI-FI I have in my room, got me into it.