What headphones can i get as an intro to audiophile world?

My budget is at $200 max. If possible, the price should include a DAC or portable dac that could power it. I’ve just discovered I wouldn’t like recessed midrange. Kindly give your recommendations. I have no previous experience in listening to good headphones.

I’ve been following the entire community for a while now, and so I heard a little bit of every advice. But I know I will 100% trust the advice which is given here. r/headphones is not for newbies like me to adventure in lol.

Shure SHP9500? Is that considered as entry audiophile? Or just entry to good sound? Thanks in advance!

1 Like

The shp9500 is pretty decent but it’s not my favorite. What stands out for what you want at first glance would be the HD58x, something easy to drive and is a bit warmer sound with great build, comfort, and detail for the price imo. The shp is most likely an upgrade over the consumer headphones, but I would suggest spending a bit more to get a more refined headphone (like perhaps more on something like an HD58x lol). What type of music do you listen to? Also in this price range I would just suggest getting something easier to drive and waiting on a dac/amp to prioritize the headphones

4 Likes

Thanks a lot @M0N! Alright HD58x it is then! I listen to a variety of music, anything that sounds good really. I’ve been listening to a lot of songs with female vocals in them recently, so that’s how i got to know that I like my midrange lol. Other than that, I listen pop and classical mostly. Just a heads up, I can’t get anything from amazon since the price gets really high. Are they easily available online through ebay or other websites you would recommend? Okay I will focus only on the headphones for now then! Thanks a lot!

They are available on drop.com as they are an exclusive, but you can look on eBay and see if someone is selling a new or open box unit. Are you in the US?