Wide purpose audio setup for gaming, movies, music

I am trying to upgrade my sound systems from my current pair of headphones (HyperX Cloud II) as they’re starting to fall apart after almost 8 years. I am not sure what direction to go since I am planning on adding speakers to the setup later. I wanted to preface that I am a total noob at this and am simply trying to do the best I can researching before purchasing. My primary sources have been the forum, zeos,

I will spend the majority of the time gaming either on both headphones/speakers depending on the game but I love watching movies/youtube on my PC as well (using headphones 75% of the time bc GF). I only infrequently listen to music when there’s something I’m particularly excited for (probably around 10% of the use time). Because I am limited in desk space (which is where this will all reside) and since I want something easy to use that I can set and forget, I’m mainly looking for as few “boxes” on my desk as well (since I already know I will want to get an XLR interface for my microphone). In general I am thinking of trying to get a speaker amp that can run headphones too since I like the modularity of passive speakers, but am open to the idea of getting a dedicated headphone amp+dac combo with speaker outs to powered speakers. My current budget for headset+amp/dac is about ~$400 and I am happy to buy from Amazon, direct from retailer, etc and am also totally fine with secondhand. My thought process was around $250 for the headphones and $125 for the amp/dac would be a nice sweet spot. I listed potential speakers for future purchase as well but they are not a crucial part of the setup as I anticipate taking my time and getting them later.

I’m currently looking at:

• Headphones: Beyerdynamic dt880 premium edition 250Ohm/Sennheiser HD6XX or 58X since I’ve heard the 6XX aren’t amazing for gaming/Hifiman HE4/5XX/TYGR 300R

• SMSL AD18 (or Topping MX3 but sold out everywhere)