General Linux Thread

Linux Software thread! Questions, recommendations, and help… mostly so I don’t feel like the only linux user. I’ll post stuff I find as I go through. Try to remain distro agnostic if you can please.

3 Likes

You are not alone (well, I dual-boot Win10 and Fedora31)

7 Likes

I will say, the more user friendly a distro is… the harder it is to add non-distro blessed software. Simplicity and convenience is an argument with the amount of time spent poking at linux.

Agreed.
Should probably mention I took the Ubuntu → Mint → Manjaro → Fedora → Fedora XFCE round trip.

1 Like

I’m an Arch Linux ARM dev and do some work with Arch Strike. That aside, pulling up some notes for pulse audio to use an external dac.

1 Like

I settled on OpenSUSE after a while on Mint and Fedora. It’s still my secondary OS though, mainly because of package issues, it uses RPM like Fedora but it’s technically different so some packages don’t behave properly. It’s like the Monoprice of the Linux world.

1 Like

So… if you’re using Pulse Audio on your linux box of choice (this works on Raspberry Pi’s also) and lets say you want to connect to another DAC. Here at the steps. The following example is me using digital audio (TOSLINK and SPID/F activated at the same time) right now on my big box. Please note, sudo or root is not required to do any of the following.

Assuming USB for the DAC, first check that the DAC exists with lsusb. Warning, if connected to a hub one might not see see the device.

Next, verify what adapters are connected and recognized by Pulse Audio with:

$ pacmd list-sinks | grep -e 'index:' -e 'card:'
    index: 0
	card: 0 <alsa_card.pci-0000_03_00.1>
    index: 1
	card: 1 <alsa_card.usb-Schiit_Audio_Schiit_Bifrost_2_Unison_USB-00>
    index: 2
	card: 2 <alsa_card.usb-Schiit_Audio_I_m_Fulla_Schiit-00>
  * index: 3
	card: 3 <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_1b.0>