Mainly gaming headphones under 200$

Hey guys, so I’m pretty new to all of this and until now I’ve been using a pair of HyperX Cloud II and now I’m looking to upgrade (around 150$ budget) and thought I’m better off buying good quality headphones and just pair it off with a mic rather than get a “gaming headset”.

The headphones will be used mainly for games such as CS:GO, but I also listen to music quite frequently so that’s important for me as well, I usually listen to rap and I do appreciate a good bass as well. I’m leaning towards closed-back for the better sound isolation and less leakage and out of habit.

After doing some research, I realized the Beyerdyanmics DT770 Pro 80ohm might be good, since I don’t have an amp/dac right and I don’t plan on buying one at least for now and they had generally really good reviews. But since I haven’t tried them yet and I’m not really an expert in the field, I would like your guys opinion on if they’ll be good for what I specified above and if not, then what do you suggest?

Hey there, welcome to hifiguides!

for future reference, gaming stuff goes in the gaming thread and we have a respective competitive thread for that :wink:

770s are good just a bit much in the bass but the imaging is superb as is the soundstage for a closed back… potentially the largest staging with the best imaging at it’s budget for closed so it works beautifully. However, the lack of an amp could pose some challenges. Is this pc or console and if it’s pc what motherboard are you using? Console will 100% need an amp as it can only handle maybe 30 ohms depending on the sensitivity of course but there are some motherboards that can handle all the way up to 600 ohms.