Newbei Needs Assistance Choosing a Headphone

Hi everyone!

Please excuse my lack of knowledge, especially with the terminology, but I’ll try to describe what I need the best I can so maybe somebody can point me in the right direction here. Deep diving into the forums just led to more questions to be honest.

I currently have a Sennheiser HD 598 that I’ve been using for almost 10 years now. What I love about it so far:

• Clean, bright (?) sound,
  • Exceptionally comfortable,
  • Sturdy (10 years!). Only had to change the pads,
  • No fatigue while listening (I use it almost 12 hours a day, literally)

One day I was listening to some EDM/metal and closed the sides of the headphone with my hands and pushed it against my ears by mistake (lol!) and I was like, wow, that bass is thick! Later, I’ve realized that I get a similar effect with new in-ear headphones.

I did some research and decided to try a V-shaped or warm, closed-back can, so I bought a Monoprice Modern Retro. I can understand that maybe I shouldn’t expect a nice sound at that price point, but it was very muddy (?), without any detail and it was disturbing for long sessions. Bass was maybe close to what I needed but it wasn’t clear (?). Also it was very uncomfortable compared to HD 598 and the head band broke within 2 weeks.

I need a headphone to complement my HD 598. I guess something with more bass for EDM/Metal without compromising too much of comfort/durability/sound clarity. Budget is up to $600.

What I’m looking at right now:

• AKG K712
  • Philips Fidelio X2HR
  • Sennheiser HD 650
  • DT 177X
  • Focal Elegia
  • HiFiMan HE-500 (heard about this but couldn’t find anywhere)
  • HiFiMan Sundara (I think this is not going to be enough bass for me?)

Questions:

• Did I at least get the list right?
  • Do I need a V-shaped/warm can? (either or?). Or maybe a W shape (is that even a thing)?
  • Do I really need a closed-back? Can I get a quality thick bass with a open-back?